Art gifts

Diabolical’ Trailer Offers Extra Voice, New Art Styles – Deadline

The boys universe gets eight distinct new looks in latest preview of Prime Video’s spin-off anime series The Boys Presents: Devilish.

Slated to debut in full on March 4, The Boys Presents: Devilish features eight 12-14 minute episodes that each have their own unique animation style. The series will reveal untold stories in The boys universe with help from Awkwafina, Garth Ennis, Eliot Glazer and Ilana Glazer, Evan Goldberg and Seth Rogen, Simon Racioppa, Justin Roiland and Ben Bayouth, Andy Samberg and Aisha Tyler.

The latest clip, unveiled on Wednesday, also showcases a range of art styles ranging from homages to the original The boys comics to those inspired by Korean anime, horror and drama, and the aesthetic of Justin Roiland. From the look of the trailer, The Boys Presents: Devilish will maintain the raunchy character, dark humor and gore of the flagship series.

Amazon also revealed the latest lineup of voice talent to join the series: Kimberly Brooks, Nicole Byer, Frances Conroy, Asjha Cooper, Chris Diamantopolous, John DiMaggio, Jermaine Fowler, Emily Gordon, Gray Griffin, Randall Duk Kim, David Marciano, Xolo Maridueña, Dominique McElligott, Caleb McLaughlin, Colby Minifie, Eugene Mirman, Retta, Kevin Michael Richardson, Somali Rose, Parker Simmons, Ursula Taherian, Fred Tatasciore, Sean Patrick Thomas, Angela Marie Volpe, Gary Antony Williams and Jenny Yokobori.

The boys is based on The New York Times bestselling comic by Garth Ennis and Darick Robertson and was developed by executive producer and showrunner Eric Kripke.

The Boys Presents: Devilish is produced by Racioppa, Kripke, Rogen, Goldberg, James Weaver, Neal H. Moritz, Pavun Shetty, Ori Marmur, Ken F. Levin, Jason Netter, Ennis, Robertson, Michaela Starr, Loreli Alanís, Chris Prynoski, Shannon Prynoski and Ben Kalina. It is produced by Amazon Studios and Sony Pictures Television Studios, along with Titmouse, Kripke Enterprises, Original Film and Point Gray Pictures.

Watch the trailer above and read all eight episodes below.

“Laser Baby’s Day”

Screenwriters: Evan Goldberg and Seth Rogen

Directors: Crystal Chesney-Thompson and Derek Thompson

Animation Style: Inspired by classic American animated shorts.

“An animated short where pissed off supers kill their parents”

Screenwriters: Justin Roiland and Ben Bayouth

Director: Parker Simmons

Animation Style: Inspired by the aesthetics of Justin Roiland.

“I am your pusher”

Screenwriter: Garth Ennis

Director: Giancarlo Volpe

Animation style: a tribute to the original The boys comic books.

“3D Boy”

Screenwriter: Eliot Glazer

Story by: Eliot Glazer & Ilana Glazer

Director: Naz Ghodrati-Azadi

Animation style: Inspired by French comics and animation.


Screenwriter: Awkwafina

Director: Madeleine Flores

Animation Style: Inspired by Saturday morning animation imports.

“Nubian vs. Nubian”

Screenwriter: Aisha Tyler

Director: Matthieu Bordenave

Animation Style: Anime Inspired

“John and Sun Hee”

Screenwriter: Andy Samberg

Director: Steve Ahn

Animation Style: Inspired by Korean drama and horror.

“One plus one equals two”

Screenwriter: Simon Racioppa

Directors: Jae Kim and Giancarlo Volpe

Animation Style: A darker version of American superhero animation